DRUNK PARTY BARTENDERS

While I loved being a bar tender, there were times I didn’t always enjoy myself. For anonymity purposes, we’ll call my former bar, Drunk Party. My first week at Drunk Party was hell. The managers only hired two bartenders and the other was sick in the hospital during opening week. For this… I hated her. We had been well advertised and with the frequent cash cab pickups in our area, we were a hot spot with lines down the block. I did enjoy the tips however, and now realize if I had been smarter during that first month, I would still be living comfortably in my Upper West Side apartment.

When Kelly finally showed up a week later after a kidney infection or uterus seizure or whatever it was she had, I tried to not be so friendly. “Hey” I said as nonchalant as possible.

“Hey, so sorry I kept you so stressed last week.”

“No worries.” Just then we suffered a huge technical difficulty, about half our beer taps stopped functioning due to some electric problem. I looked down at the long line of people waiting…. and I mean this was to the back wall and out the door.

“Want a percocet?”

I looked over at Kelly who was slyly holding a small pill in her hand. “Sure.” We instantly became best friends and had the best night of work… EVER.

About hometown humble pie

I'm a college-educated twenty something who took a year off from college and ended up spending the spring semester back in the cesspool from which I came. I am chronicling the next couple months as I have gone from an NYC bartender and Wall Street Banker's personal assistant to a repeat fast food employee as I save up money to move back to the Big Apple.

Posted on March 5, 2012, in bar, drugs, humor, New York City and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment